44th Annual Agnes Markwalter Youth Art Competition 2023

44th Annual Agnes Markwalter Youth Art Competition and Exhibition 2023

The Gertrude Herbert Institute of Art, in collaboration with the Markwalter Family, is pleased to announce the 2023 Agnes Markwalter Youth Art Competition. Held in conjunction with National Youth Art Month, the Agnes Markwalter Youth Art Competition and Exhibition seeks to promote the value of art education for all children and to encourage support for quality school art programs throughout the CSRA. The 2023 competition will showcase work inspired by the theme YOUR ART, YOUR VOICE, created by K-12 students from public, private, and home schools in Aiken, Burke, Columbia, McDuffie, and Richmond Counties. This exhibition is generously sponsored by the Markwalter family.

Divisional entries from each school will be on exhibit in the student galleries at the Gertrude Herbert Institute of Art, 506 Telfair Street, from March 8- March 31, 2023.

Teachers may drop off student work Feb 14 and 15th from 10:00am-4:30pm

A reception and awards presentation will be held on Wednesday, March 8, 2023 from 4:30 – 5:30 p.m. at the Gertrude Herbert Institute of Art. Awards will be presented at 5:00 p.m.

2023 Juror: Devin Lovett Westobou's Artist in Residence

*Downloadable Application and Rules can be found below.


Winners from the 43rd Annual Agnes Markwalter Youth Art Competition and Exhibition 2022:

*Image: Best in Show, Jocelyn Pope, Complement

UPDATE - Congratulations to our 2022 Winners:

Best In Show: Jocelyn Pope, Davidson Fine Arts 

GHIA Staff Award 3D: Myia Lambert, Hephzibah High School

GHIA Staff Award 2D:  Brier Smith, Paul Knox Middle

Division 1 (K - 2nd Grades)

Honorable Mention: 1. Charlotte Cahill, Lake Forest Hills Elementary 2. Joseph Washington, Warren Road Elementary

3rd Place: Easton Brown, Warren Road Elementary

2nd Place: Dale Galavotti, Warren Road Elementary

1st Place: Addy Moores, Lake Forest Hills Elementary

Division 2 (3rd - 5th Grades)

Honorable Mention: 1. Cecilia Ishee, Lake Forest Hills Elementary 2. Eli Fischofer, Lake Forest Hills Elementary

3rd Place: Maura Armstrong, Lake Forest Hills Elementary

2nd Place: Kamayah Davis, Warren Road Elementary

1st Place: Kaleah Smith, Warren Road Elementary

Division 3 (6th - 8th Grades)

Honorable Mention: 1. Oluwadara Oluwabusi, Riverside Middle School 2. Reagan Bishop, Westminster Schools 3. Liliana Oliverio, Paul Knox Middle School

3rd Place: Kate Thomas, Davidson Fine Arts

2nd Place: Blake Sommers, Riverside Middle School

1st Place: Naomi Gillies, Davidson Fine Arts

Division 4 (9th - 12th Grades)

Honorable Mention: 1. Allyson Renner, Lakeside High School 2. Lillian Hornsby, Westminster Schools 3. Alex Torres, Grovetown High School

3rd Place: Gracie Edonfield, Lakeside High School

2nd Place: Parker Daniels, AR Johnson

1st Place: Connor Sims, Davidson Fine Arts